The Isolation International Film Festival comprises a focussed selection of 60 films, spanning different eras and genres. These are categorised across the following sections.

Diamond League

The Diamond League is a special lineup showcasing the crème de la crème of the 21st century film, with each entry in this category having won the top prize in its respective festival. Touting selections from Cannes, Berlin and Venice, many of which went on to also be nominated for Academy Awards, some of the most innovative directors of our time compete here for the Diamond Crown, the ultimate prize to determine the victor among victors.

However this will be allocated not by a closed jury, but by the people, to the film which most resonates with a wider audience. A separate jury Grand Prix award will also be reserved for a single runner-up which shows both boldness and elegance in its execution, and has made notable contributions towards cinematography.

  1. The Square - Ruben Östlund (2017)

  2. Amour - Michael Haneke (2012)

  3. 4 Months, 3 Weeks and 2 Days - Cristian Mungiu (2007)

  4. The Pianist - Roman Polanski (2002)

  5. Blue is the Warmest Colour - Abdellatif Kechiche (2013)

  6. Winter Sleep - Nuri Bilge Ceylan (2014)

  7. Roma - Alfonso Cuarón (2018)

  8. On Body and Soul - Ildikó Enyedi (2017)

  9. Synonyms - Nadav Lapid (2019)

  10. The Tree of Life - Terrence Malick (2011)

  11. Shoplifters - Hirozaku Kore-eda (2018)

  12. Parasite - Bong Joon-ho (2019)

In Competition

This section is the focal point of the festival, comprising feature-length films which previously competed for one of the top film festival awards (Palme d’Or, Golden Bear or Golden Lion) during the 21st century, but did not win. Many of them still won the Grand Prix or Silver Bear prizes, while others were again nominated for Academy Awards, and a handful even exceeded the winner of their festival in popularity.

The Isolation International Film Festival gives these films the opportunity to compete once more for full festival honours, with the Golden Crown reserved for the best film as voted by the people. The winner ought to not be necessarily the most entertaining, but the film that cuts closest to the core of modern consciousness, challenging and enriching audiences from a variety of different cultures.

Viewers will also score films on technique, awarding a series of Silver Lungs to runner-ups who show particular merit in certain aspects of filmmaking. These will be allocated as follows:

  • Silver Lung Jury Award;

  • Silver Lung for Best Director;

  • Silver Lung for Best Acting;

  • Silver Lung for Best Screenplay;

  • Silver Lung for Best Editing;

  • Silver Lung for Best Film Score & Sound;

  • Silver Lung for Best Costume & Set Design;

  • Silver Lung for Supreme Innovation.

  1. Victoria - Sebastian Schipper (2015)

  2. Black Swan - Darren Aronofsky (2010)

  3. Cold War - Paweł Pawlikowski (2018)

  4. The Piano Teacher - Michael Haneke (2001)

  5. Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) - Alejandro G. Iñárritu (2014)

  6. Sibyl - Justine Triet (2019)

  7. The Killing of a Sacred Deer - Yorgos Lanthimos (2017)

  8. Clouds of Sils Maria - Olivier Assayaso (2014)

  9. Caché - Michael Haneke (2005)

  10. God Exists, Her Name is Petrunija - Teona Strugar Mitevska (2019)

  11. The Whistlers - Corneliu Porumboiu (2019)

  12. The Lobster - Yorgos Lanthimos (2015)

  13. The Wild Pear Tree - Nuri Bilge Ceylan (2018)

  14. La Grande Bellezza - Paolo Sorrentin (2013)

  15. Grâce à dieu - François Ozon (2019)

  16. Berlin Syndrome - Cate Shortland (2017)


Perspective features festival films of the 21st century which screened outside of the main competition, with an emphasis on relationships, identity and human psychology. The films in this category are often graceful, subtle, and insightful, inviting audiences to approach thoughtfully and attentively in order to uncover a rich tapestry of themes and alternating perspectives.

A single Audience Award will be presented to the film which viewers deem by public vote as most inspiring.

  1. Who You Think I Am - Safy Nebbou (2019)

  2. La belle époque - Nicolas Bedos (2019)

  3. The Invisible Life of Eurídice Gusmão - Karim Aïnouz (2019)

  4. Force Majeure - Ruben Östlund (2014)

  5. Ida - Paweł Pawlikowski (2013)

  6. Petra - Jaime Rosales (2018)

  7. Call Me By Your Name - Luca Guadagnino (2017)

  8. Beanpole - Kantemir Balagov (2019)

Ciné de lumière

Named after the Théâtre Lumière in Cannes, the Ciné de lumière selections focus once more on 21st century festival films screened outside of the main competition, showcasing grit through unconventional styles and often controversial subjects. The films in this category are impactful and provocative, illuminating alternative viewpoints and dispositions within society.

Viewers will again have the chance to vote for the most cutting-edge and illuminating entry, which will receive the Audience Award.

  1. Manifesto - Julian Rosefeldt (2015)

  2. El Ángel - Luis Ortega (2018)

  3. Climax - Gaspar Noé (2018)

  4. Paris 05:59: Théo & Hugo - Olivier Ducastel & Jacques Martineau (2016)

  5. Kislota - Alexander Gorchilin (2018)

  6. The Guilty - Gustav Möller (2018)

  7. Der Atem - Uli M Schueppel (2019)

  8. O Beautiful Night - Xaver Böhm (2019)


The Retrospective section is designed to honour great films of the last century previously shown at the Cannes Film Festival. Comprised equally of Palme d’Or winners and those screened Out of Competition, Retrospective celebrates the most important directors of the 20th century, from French New Wave to American hardboiled crime, serving as a homage to bygone eras of cinematography.

  1. Stalker - Andrei Tarkovsky (1979)

  2. Funny Games - Michael Haneke (1997)

  3. Belle de Jour - Luis Buñuel (1967)

  4. Cléo from 5 to 7 - Agnès Varda (1962)

  5. Mephisto - István Szabó (1981)

  6. Hiroshima mon amour - Alain Resnais (1959)

  7. Taxi Driver - Martin Scorsese (1976)

  8. Pulp Fiction - Quentin Tarantino (1994)

Out of Competition

In addition to the five sections, we will screen a handful of films which premiered outside of the film festival circuit, that nevertheless show excellent merit in filmmaking. This is but a short compilation of films both new and old which work within the spirit of these festivals, displaying powerful themes and innovative production for their time—solidifying all the films shown here as unequivocal classics.

  1. Amélie - Jean-Pierre Jeunet (2001)

  2. L’Age d’Or - Luis Buñuel (1930)

  3. 2001: A Space Odyssey - Stanley Kubrick (1968)

  4. Jules et Jim - François Truffaut (1962)

  5. Blade Runner - Ridley Scott (1982)

  6. Cabaret - Bob Fosse (1972)

  7. The Discreet Charm of the Bourgeoisie - Luis Buñuel (1972)

  8. Breakfast at Tiffany’s - Blake Edwards (1961)